Gas tank?

Discussions about general body work and modifications
Johnny Wishbone

Gas tank?

Post by Johnny Wishbone »

Not sure if this is the right place to post this, but does anyone know where I can get a new gas tank for a 64 Comet?

Thanks, John

Groover

Re: Gas tank?

Post by Groover »

John,

I don't think there is any such thing as a "new" tank for a 64 Comet, and the other years won't fit in the 64. Crites makes a fiberglass tank that while I have no experience with, seems to get mixed reviews. Somebody on the forum may have access to a replacement tank (or ebay).

Unless yours is completely toast, many of us have had ours repaired/patched.

Good luck.
1964 Comet Caliente Convertible
30,000 miles on our rebuild

All Comets start out as dreams...

Johnny Wishbone

Thanks, my tank has a bunch of pin holes in the top and if I fill it up more than half way it stinks the whole car up. One time I took a tank in to get cleaned and it got worse when they hot tanked it and then I had no tank, so..... I'm a little nervous about going through that again.

John

alans 64

Post by alans 64 »

Johnny Wishbone wrote:Thanks, my tank has a bunch of pin holes in the top and if I fill it up more than half way it stinks the whole car up. One time I took a tank in to get cleaned and it got worse when they hot tanked it and then I had no tank, so..... I'm a little nervous about going through that again.

John