Comet in Ontario, Canada

Let everyone know a little about yourself
02HD9294

Comet in Ontario, Canada

Post by 02HD9294 »

Hello,
Just came across this site and glad to find something all Comet. Hopefully I can get better help here than on the other (mostly Falcon) sites.
I'm attempting to restore/restomod/update my 62 Custom 2-door. I've owned it since I inherited it in 1974. A few years ago it came down to restore or scrap, and I chose the former and now am questioning my sanity at the time.

I have stripped it down, had it sandblasted and epoxy primed to find that it had extensive rust from many Canadian winters. To date, I have replaced the floors, repaired the torque boxes and rebuilt the trunk and rear frame rails. The cowl area and the engine compartment, as well as the rear quarters still require repair and/or replacement. Not being a welder, I am at the mercy of others and the billable hours add up.

It took me two attempts to find suitable front fenders and I have been lucky with some NOS panels on Ebay but still need a new rust-free hood. I just missed a NOS one from a place in Colorado, so I'm still looking for one at a fair price. I won't need it for a while because I'm years away from this thing being back on the road. I will have many excellent trim parts to dispose of, so somewhere down the road I will be offering them up for sale.