1965 Comet 202 project

Upload pictures of your Comets and Projects to share with everyone.
ArkansasComet

1965 Comet 202 project

Post by ArkansasComet »

After selling my '64 Comet when I moved from CA to AR, I really missed having a Comet around to work on. I knew it would be hard to find a car in AR that wasn't rusting away (one thing I miss about CA!), so I accepted the fact that I would be doing lots of body work & started searching for a new car. I found this 1965 202 an hour away for a whopping $300, so I decided to pick it up. The old owner had started to swap the suspension over to V8 suspension, so I figured for the price it was at least worth it for parts. I never like to part out a car, so I decided to take on the challenge of fixing the body on this one. I am still new to body work & have never really done any major panel replacement (except for the roof on the '64), so this will be a fun learning project for me!

Here is how the Comet looked when I picked it up, the suspension was only partially bolted together which made it difficult to move. We used a tractor & come-alongs to load it onto the trailer:

We removed the hood & lifted the front using the tractor & a chain, & backed the trailer under the front of the car. I didn't get any pics. during the operation as I was focused on the task at hand!

On the trailer! As you can see the front end is not completely bolted up & is missing the driver side strut rod so it would not roll.

We used an engine hoist to lift the front of the car so we could move it into the shop:

After getting the car up on jack stands I began to disassemble everything. I plan on media blasting this car in the future so I am stripping the body completely down.