Hello from Illinois!

Let everyone know a little about yourself
Treehouse

Hello from Illinois!

Post by Treehouse »

Hello everyone!

Im from Illinois, the land where our governors make our license plates. I’ve had a couple old cars and motorcycles and I really enjoy working on anything mechanical. I’m a union plumber by day and full time dad at night.

My wife and I recently bought a 1964 Mercury Comet 404 4 door with 3.3l inline 6. The car only had 32,000 original miles and was a one owner car! It was listed on Craigslist in the Kansas City area by a young man who got the car from the original owner in trade for a landscaping job. He never registered it in his name and had no interest in the car. He just wanted to make some easy money. We decided to drive out there hoping it was in as good of condition as the pictures depicted it to be. It turned out to be in even better condition in person. We took it for a test drive around the block and decided that it was a definite buy. $5500 later I’m driving a 58 year old car back home across the great state of missouri. It made the 4.5 hour trip with no issues! It was 95 degrees and I had the windows down cruising at 75-80 mph down Interstate 70 feeling good. We bought this car for taking our 3 kids out to get ice cream when we get the urge to look cool while being parents. I think my wife will end up taking them to school in this car quite often!

I will attach pictures when I can figure it out soon!

Groover

Re: Hello from Illinois!

Post by Groover »

Welcome on Treehouse. Where in Illinois? I have spent the better part of my life in Carbondale, but move to Indy in 2019. My 64 Comet still resides in Illinois for now ;)
1964 Comet Caliente Convertible
30,000 miles on our rebuild

All Comets start out as dreams...

SASSY

Post by SASSY »

Welcome! Great story, happy to have you on board.
Best way to post pics os to link them from a host such as Postimage.