Parking brake

The Era of The Square Body Racing Comets
mercuryman

Parking brake

Post by mercuryman »

Thinking of just removing my parking brake lines on my 65 automatic. Good or bad idea? Don’t use them anyway. Doing a undercarriage strip down and paint job.

lavron
Site Admin

Re: Parking brake

Post by lavron »

From someone who has lost his hydraulic brakes twice and only had the emergency brake to stop with I think it is a bad idea to remove them.

I believe some places you can't pass a safety inspection without a functioning e-brake.

See Ya,
Mike
Mike's build thread
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13058

Jims65cyclone

Post by Jims65cyclone »

I'm no AT mechanic, but I was always told that an AT "has a pin that inserts into a hole" and locks the output shaft from turning when it's put into park. If you just put the car in park without applying the PARKING brake (not an emergency brake), the car can roll forward or backwards a few inches before the pin engages when you take your foot off the brake. It may even rock back and forth a time or two depending on the grade. This puts stress on the pin and can cause it shear after repeated cycles. If you shear the pin and have no parking brake, you can't keep the car from rolling off unless you park on perfectly flat grades, sit in the car with your foot on the brake, or carry a brick with you to chock the wheels. I'd keep the parking brakes.

Jim

popscomet

Post by popscomet »