new dual master cylinder install

The Era of The Square Body Racing Comets
frankstein65

new dual master cylinder install

Post by frankstein65 »

I just bought a 65 caliente and the previous owner installed front disc. Car has manual drum rear. I bought a new dual power assist m/c from ABS for front disc/rear drum. My question is, it looks like it's a tight fit under the shock brace to firewall. A mechanic told me he would have to cut it out to install the m/c and then reweld it back. Any input on this install? I'm new to this car. Thanks.

frankstein65

Re: new dual master cylinder install

Post by frankstein65 »

what I forgot to mention is that there is currently a single cylinder bowl installed on the car now.

A/FX
Comet Central Member

Post by A/FX »

My opinion:
Forget what the “mechanic” told you. First off you do not need power assist for you brake system. I installed front discs on my Cyclone in 1974, I used an unboosted Ford master cyl. designed for a factory installed manual disc/drum system. It worked perfectly. During the recent rebuild I have installed four wheel disc brakes from Baer using a un boosted dual master from Master Power Brakes in Charlotte NC. this system uses a balancing/ proportioning valve.
I would suggest you contact a company like Master Power Brakes for their recommendation. Cutting the shock tower for clearance is not the answer.
Jim
‘64 Cyclone/ Boss 302,quads,4spd, Winters 9”

poboyjo65

Post by poboyjo65 »

You will have a lot more room to add fluid/service the mc & It also makes it easier to get to the back spark plugs - if you get a bolt in (removable) export brace.
this is a link to one
https://www.ebay.com/itm/1960-1965-Come ... 1438.l2649

here is a pic with an export brace & the abs booster/dual mc ;

pic with FACTORY brace & dual mc BUT NO BOOSTER;

pic with export brace & NO booster but dual mc;

here is a full view, (no booster);
Johno

frankstein65

Post by frankstein65 »